2018 Go Blue Awards Luncheon

Annual Go Blue Awards Luncheon

Save the Date
The 11th Annual Go Blue Awards Luncheon
October 25, 2019 - Kravis Center, West Palm Beach

The Tenth Annual Go Blue Awards recognized individuals and organizations who are leading the community in practicing ocean conservation and are on the leading edge of going "Blue!" Featuring special guest and keynote speaker, Jeff Corwin.

The Tenth Annual Go Blue Awards Luncheon was held on Friday, October 26, 2018 at the Kravis Center's, Cohen Pavilion in West Palm Beach.

Starting on July 15, LMC accepted nominations for the 2018 Go Blue Awards, which are given annually to four individuals and a business that are making extraordinary contributions by promoting ocean conservation. Nominations were made through August 25. Finalists were announced at a Blue Friends Society social in September.

Special Guest: Jeff Corwin


Jeff Corwin shares his one-of-a kind perspective on wildlife conservation, empowering audiences to join the movement to save our natural world for future generations.

As the host of the Emmy Award-winning ABC wildlife adventure series \"Ocean Mysteries with Jeff Corwin,\" Jeff educates and entertains audiences with his knowledge and deep sense of caring about the natural world. During Jeff\'s television career, he also hosted Animal Planet\'s \"The Jeff Corwin Experience\" and \"Corwin\'s Quest,\" along with a variety of popular television series on networks like Disney Channel, Discovery Channel, Travel Channel and Food Network. Jeff\'s work on CNN\'s critically-acclaimed \"Planet in Peril\" with Anderson Cooper and as a special science and the environment correspondent for NBC News has solidified his place as one of the world\'s leading environmental journalists.

With a focus on awareness and education, Jeff draws on his world travels to enlighten with insights on the current state of environmental conservation efforts, emphasizing that the key to our own survival is the survival of the world\'s creatures and ecosystems. He takes audiences on a global tour to witness firsthand the condition of the natural world, sharing a message of hope and humanity, and encouraging us all to play an active and positive role in helping save the Earth\'s most threatened animals and natural resources.


Award Categories & Recipients

The Eleanor Fletcher Award, named for the founder of Loggerhead Marinelife Center, recognizes an individual who has exemplified a lifelong, extraordinary commitment to marine conservation through their work or volunteer activities. 2018 Award Recipient - Dr. Charles Manire - Full Bio

The Blue Ambassador of the Year Award recognizes a person who has made significant contributions in marine conservation through volunteer related activities. 2018 Award Recipient - Anja Burns - Full Bio

The Blue Friend of the Year Award recognizes a person who has made significant contributions in marine conservation through work-related activities. 2018 Award Recipient - Jacquelyn Kingston - Full Bio

The Blue Hatchling Youth Award recognizes students up to and including 12th grade who have made significant contributions in marine conservation through volunteer related activities. 2018 Award Recipient - Madison Toonder - Full Bio

The Blue Business of the Year Award recognizes a business or non-profit that has made outstanding contributions toward promoting and encouraging conservation, restoration, or preservation of marine life and/or marine ecosystems through their business practices, products or technology. 2018 Award Recipient - Andrew "Red" Harris Foundation - Full Bio

2018 Go Blue Awards Nominees

Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.


Go Blue Awards Nominations are open to the public and are judged by an independent panel of judges. The esteemed panel of judges that will select this year\'s finalists and winners includes; Gary Adkison - U.S. Shark Foundation, Director; Fabien Cousteau - Aquanaut, oceanographic explorer, conservationist and documentary filmmaker; Cristina Mittermeier - Contributing Photographer, Speaker, and Explorer for National Geographic; Sally Murray - Daughter of LMC Founder, Eleanor Fletcher; Susan Murray - Oceana Deputy Vice President U.S. Pacific, Granddaughter of LMC Founder, Eleanor Fletcher; Paul Nicklen - Acclaimed National Geographic Photographer, Biologist and Conservationist; Joel Sartore - Photographer, speaker, author, teacher, and a 20-year contributor to National Geographic magazine; and Jim Toomey - Mission Blue Executive Director, Creator of Sherman\'s Lagoon Comic Strip.

The Go Blue Awards program was created to recognize individuals and businesses that directly or indirectly support LMC\'s mission to promote conservation of ocean ecosystems with a special focus on threatened and endangered sea turtles. Previous Go Blue Award recipients include Dr. Guy Harvey, Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation; Dr. Sylvia Earle, Mission Blue; Hardy Jones - Executive Director, Bluevoice.org; Nathaniel Reed, Everglades Foundation; Dr. Edith Widder, Ocean Research & Conservation Association; Florida Power & Light Company; Gary Adkison, U.S. Shark Foundation; International Game Fish Association; and Coral Restoration Foundation.

Please note, there are no refunds or exchanges for purchased tickets. All sales are final.